EB-5移民问题

这些EB-5移民常见问题的答复内容仅供参考,不得视为法律意见。因此我们建议所有准投资者咨询执牌移民律师。

1.我必须拥有商业经验或者接受过相关教育吗?

投资者不需要具有任何商业经验。但要求投资者拥有投资经验,或者能够理解EB-5投资中的交易文件,并且需要拥有规定的净资产以及进行此类投资所需的资本。

2.我必须说英语吗?

不必,不要求必须能够说英语;然而,由于英文在EB-5交易文件是官方语言,投资者应由翻译人员(朋友、律师、家庭成员)帮忙翻译相关材料。如有任何问题,请联系我们的办公室了解更多信息。

3.我必须身体健康吗?

是。在授予有条件EB-5签证之前,作为领事馆审核流程的一部分,你必须向领事馆提交体验表,并且必须通过健康筛查。

4.投资者的资产必须是合法取得,这个要求意味着什么?

根据美国移民局法规规定,投资者必须证明其资产是合法取得。这要求投资者证明其投资资金是通过合法业务、工资、投资、房地产销售、遗产继承、馈赠、贷款或者其他合法渠道获得。

5.父母或者其他亲属赠送的金钱是否可以用于EB-5投资?

可以。但前提是已经缴纳了任何适用的赠与税。必须证明该赠与行为是一项真实的公平交易,而不仅仅是一种诡计或者在获得永久居留身份之后将退还。

6.“有条件无条件绿卡之间有什么区别?

根据美国移民局法规规定,向移民局提交I-526申请表并且获得批准的投资者还必须通过领事馆面谈流程,只有在通过领带馆面谈之后,EB-5移民申请者才能收到“有条件”绿卡。“有条件”绿卡就是所谓的“有条件永久”绿卡,可获得与美国公民相同的权利和特权,但在大约两年的期间内对美国居留权有严格的要求。在有条件绿卡发放一年零九个月之后,有一个持续三个月的窗口开放期,在此期间,个人必须向移民局提交另一份申请(I-829表),请求审核在有条件居留身份期间已经投资了规定的资金,并且已经满足了为美国人创造十个新的就业机会的要求。当有条件居留身份获得批准之后授予充分无条件居留身份,并且发放永久绿卡。永久绿卡对实际美国居留权的限制很少。

7.如果移民局批准了我的I-526申请,为什么我还要去领事馆申请和面谈,我需要多久拿得我的绿卡

当I-526申请获得批准之后,申请者必须等待驻你国家的美国领事馆通知,以便你准备签证面谈所需文件。领事馆申请的目的,是为了确保您和您的家人在领到有条件永久居留签证前,已经接受了健康、刑事、安全和移民历史方面的检查。面试中,领事官员可能会提出这些已经出现在I-526申请表中的问题和信息,包括要求您概述您移民投资的性质。如果投资者及其家人在美国境内,则可能需要向主管的移民局办公室提交I-485表和证据文件来申请调整身份。

8.如果我以前申请L-1E-2B或其他类别的签证时被移民局拒签或者终止,我还能申请吗?

过去被拒绝不会使申请者失去申请资格,除非拒签的理由与移民欺诈或者其他重大问题相关。最重要的是有限合伙企业以及移民律师在提交申请之前发现的所有刑事、健康问题或者美国移民历史问题。

9.申请获得批准之后,家庭成员可以在不同国家接受面谈吗?

家庭成员可以在不同国家接受面谈。母国或者与家庭成员有联系的所在国家是标准面谈地点。通常情况下,如果一个家庭成员位于另一个国家,比如在美国读书的学生,该学生不需要返回母国,可以就地在移民局的区办公室调整身份。

10.谁能通过EB-5投资获得永久居留权(绿卡)?

丈夫、妻子和任何年龄未满21岁的子女,只要是在提交I-526申请时未满21岁的家庭成员。注意:如果办理时间超过一定期限,有些子女可能会不符合年龄未满21岁的规定。欲了解更多信息,请向你的移民律师咨询。家庭成员也可以包括领养的子女。当获得批准之后,你将收到一份证明已经批准的表格以及一份旅行证件。你还应收到一张通过邮局寄送的临时绿卡。

11.当申请EB-5签证时,导致发生的大部分问题的根本原因是什么?

最常见的问题是证明资金来源的文件资料不足。许多人都试图尽量少公开信息,只针对那些指出提供更多信息的要求提供相关资料。但是,尽可能多地提供信息胜过提供尽可能少的信息。在这个恐怖警报频繁发生、全球反洗钱的时代,移民局案件检查员要求有充分的文件证明资金来源。

12.永久居留权和公民身份之间的区别是什么?

当你取得永久绿卡,成为一名合法的永久居民之后,则获得美国公民拥有的大部分权利和义务,但没有选举和被选举权,也无权获得某些公众福利,还需要遵守相同的纳税申报要求,以及有权适用与美国公民相同的税率和税务减免。你的“绿卡”是你最重要的旅行和身份证件。当你收到绿卡时,请仔细检查。你可能需要在十年内申请延期。如果由于丢失、被盗或者损毁而需要提前更换绿卡,你可能需要向移民局提交一张表格。合法永久居民的最重要权利之一是有权在五年之后成为美国公民。有两种途径可以成为美国公民。一种途径是在美国出生或者被美国公民 收养。另一种途径是通过入籍。通过入籍成为美国公民的第一步是成为一名合法的永久居民(英文简写“LPR”)。成为永久居民年满五年是符合入籍条件的基本要求。第二个要求是在提交入籍申请之前的五年期间有三十个月的时间本人都一直留在美国境内。成为美国公民之后有权享受各种福利,包括获得选举和被选举权以及担任公职

13.我的绿卡可能被收走吗?

当你获得一张绿卡之后,只需要符合两个条件就可以终生持有。第一,不得被遣返或者驱逐出境,触犯此条的最常见情况是被判定犯有严重罪行。第二个要求是你没有放弃在美国的永久居留权。只要你不打算搬到其他国家居住,在不触犯法律的情况下,你仍然是美国居发。一般来说,如果你持有绿卡,但离开美国的时间超过一年,你可能需要费很大周折才能重返美国。这是因为移民局认为离开美国的时间超过一年表示你可能放弃了美国居留权。为了避免接受全方位调查,你应当在六个月内返回美国。只需每年返回美国一次就能保留绿卡,这是一种常见的错误概念。事实是,如果你曾经试图选择其他国家作为永久居住地,当你前往该国时则放弃了你的美国居留权。移民局将观察你的实际居住地不在美国的迹象。另一方面,持续不在美国境内的时间超过一年不意味着你已经自动放弃了你的绿卡。如果你只是临时离开美国,你仍然可以保留你的永久居留身份。然而,你可能不能再使用绿卡作为美国入境证件。你必须以重返美国的美国居民身份向美国领事馆申请特殊移民签证,或者你必须获得所谓的回国证。

14.我持有绿卡,但计划长时间不在美国境内。我能保留我的绿卡吗?

或许能。围绕绿卡制定的首要规则是,如果你放弃自己的美国居留权,你就失去你的绿卡。但最普遍的检验标准是时间。这里有三个需要了解的重要时间限制:

如果你持续离开美国的时间不足六个月,这几乎不成问题。除非移民局证明你放弃了你的居留权,否则移民局会认为你从未真的离开过美国。

如果你持续离开美国的时间超过六个月,但不满一年,你就需要提交证明材料。而且你有责任证明你仍然是美国的一名永久居民。这依据的理念是,你在六个月之后必须重新申请入境,并且必须证明你仍然有入境资格。需要提出的一点是,当你持续离开美国的时间超过六个月,重新申请入境的审核标准也不同。例如,如果你在失去入境资格的同时被证明感染了HIV病毒,那么你可能有麻烦了。

如果你持续离开美国的时间超过一年,那么就很可能认为你已经自动放弃你的绿卡。如果真的出现这种情况,通常没有追索权。但是,如果你在返回美国时,移民官碰巧没有问你已经离开美国多长时间,那你可能会非常幸运地保住你的绿卡。在这种情况下,你离开美国的时间不宜过久,以便使你再次真正成为美国居民。

15.我需要离开美国的时间超过一年,我该怎么办?

你可以在离开美国之前申请回国证(I-131表),并可以在回国证获得批准之前离开美国。即使离开美国的时间超过一年,只有持有在有效期内的回国证就可以返回美国。回国证有效期为两年,不能申请延期,但可以短期回美国或者申请新的回国证。第二做法是,此回国证的有效期也将为两年,但以后每次申请的回国证有效期仅为一年。

16.绿卡有效期是多长时间?

此问题有多个答案。如果你通过婚姻获得绿卡,并且在你获得绿卡时的婚姻生活不足两年,你应获得一张为期两年的有条件绿卡。如果通过投资获得绿卡(EB-5),你也应当持有有一张为期两年的有条件绿卡。在这两年期满前九十天内,你必须申请去除附加在绿卡上的条件,此申请获得批准之后,你就持有一张常规的无条件绿卡。如果你提交申请的时间太早或太迟,那么都会遇上麻烦,所以应征求律师的意见。如果你没获准去除绿卡上的条件,这张绿卡将在两年期满时失效,你的永久居留身份也将终止。无条件绿卡有效期为十年。但这不意味着十年之后你不再是一个合法的永久居民 ——只有该绿卡作废,而你必须利用I-90表申请新的绿卡。如果没有更新绿卡,你不能使用原来的绿卡离美旅行也不能使用原来的绿卡作为允许在美就业的证件。

17.我每年在美国必须居住多长时间?

任何在美国境外领事馆获得签证的投资者必须遵守的第一个要求就是在领事馆发放签证之后的180天内进入美国。投资者进入美国之后必须确定居所。居住意向证据资料包括开立银行账户、获取驾照或者社会保障号、缴纳州和联邦所得税、租赁或购置住房。如果企业或职业 性质需要,美国居民也可以在海外工作。对于那些在美国境外生活的永久居住者,我们建议投资者及其家人至少每六个月重返美国一次。投资者及其家人在美国居住的时间越久,美国政府就越不可能认为投资者“放弃”在美国的永久居留权 ,否则会威害他的绿卡身份。在某些情况中,投资者可以寻求发放“回国证”,这允许投资者在美国境外逗留两年,而不需要期间为了保持永久居留身份而返回美国。

18.谁可以获得永久居留权(绿卡)?

个人或者家庭(丈夫、妻子以及任何年龄不满21岁的未婚子女)都可能收到永久居留权。家庭成员也可能包括领养的子女。

19.我和我的家人需要多久才能收到绿卡

对于EB-5计划的每个申请者来说,目前的平均办理时间在一年以上甚至更久。初始申请的批准通常需要六至八个月,其余时间需要用于填写美国公民及移民局(USCIS)和国务院申请表格以及安排面谈。

20.移民局办理签证申请需要多长时间?

办理时间长短不同,有的只需几个星期,有的需要几个月,还有的甚至超过九个月。我们不能预测或者承诺在某一特定时间内办理。你应当准备好整个过程需要一年甚至一年半。

21.投资者参与投资需要承担什么义务?

投资者在投资的管理中必须“主动”。 无论通过日常管理控制还是通过制定政策,投资者必须参与新商业企业的管理。然而,法规没有特别允许投资者需要具有像《修正统一有限合伙法》定义的“有限合伙人”那样“主动”参与管理的资格。投资者在投资项目中登记为有限合伙人之后,此项目就满足所有管制要求。有限合伙人对合伙企业承担有限的义务,比如有限合伙人的选举权。但满足EB-5计划的标准只发挥有限的作用。这也允许投资者生活在其喜欢的地方,使投资者有权自由进出美国。最重要的是,有限合伙人就像企业股东一样,只对企业承担自己同意投资部分的义务。CMB利用此商业结构来保护投资者,以及满足EB-5法律的要求。

Language:
  • English
  • Français
  • 中文
  • Português
  • Русский
  • Español
  • Tiếng Việt
  • 한국

EB-5 Immigration Issues

These EB-5 immigration FAQ’s are for informational purposes only and are not to be relied upon as legal advice. Therefore we strongly urge all prospective investors to consult a licensed immigration attorney.

1. Must I have previous business experience or education?

The investor is not required to have any prior business experience. A requirement for the investor is that he or she has the experience in investing or has the ability to understand the transactional documents in the EB-5 investment and have the required net worth and capital to make such an investment.

2. Must I speak English?

No, the ability to speak English is not a requirement; however, an investor should obtain the services of a translator (friend, attorney, family member) to read the materials, as English is the official document in the EB-5 transaction. Please contact our office for more information if you have questions.

3. Must I be in good health?

Yes. You must submit to and pass a health screening as part of the Consular review process before a conditional EB-5 Visa is granted.

4. What is meant by the requirement that the investor’s assets be “lawfully gained”?

Under USCIS regulations, the investor must demonstrate that his assets were gained in a lawful manner. This requires the investor to prove his investment funds were obtained through lawful business, salary, investments, property sales, inheritance, gift, loan, or other lawful means.

5. Can money gifted by a parent or other relative be used for an EB-5 Investment?

Yes, provided that any applicable gift taxes are paid. It must be demonstrated that the gift is an actual arm’s length transaction and is not a mere ruse or that the gifted funds will be given back after permanent resident status is granted.

6. What is the difference between “conditional” and “unconditional” Green Cards?

Under the regulations, an investor who files an I-526 petition with the USCIS and is approved must pass further the consulate interview, then and only then, the EB-5 immigrant a receives a “conditional” Green Card. A “conditional” Green Card is called a “conditional permanent” Green Card and offer the same rights and privileges as a U.S. citizen; however, it has strict requirements for U.S. residency for approximately two years. One year and nine months after it is issued, a three-month window opens up during which an individual must file another application (the I-829) with the USCIS to verify that all of the required funds have been invested throughout the conditional residency period and the requirement of creating ten new American jobs has been met. When the conditional resident status has been approved, full unconditional resident status is granted and a permanent Green Card is issued. The permanent Green Card has less restrictions on actual U.S. residency.

7. If my I-526 petition is approved by USCIS, what is the purpose of the Consulate application and Interview, and how soon do I get my “Green Card”?

Upon approval of the I-526 Petition, an applicant must wait for notification from the United States Consulate in your home country to prepare documents for the Visa interview. The purpose of this procedure is to ensure that the investor and his or her family undergo medical, police, security and immigration history checks before the conditional permanent resident visas are issued. At the interview, the consulate officer may address these issues and information printed on the I-526 application, including asking the investor to summarize the nature of his or her immigrant investment. If the investor and his or her family are in the United States, then you may apply for adjustment of status by filing form I-485, and supporting documents, the application may be filed at the appropriate office of the USCIS.

8. Can I apply if I have been rejected or terminated in the past by USCIS for an L-1, E-2, B, or other visa?

Rejection in the past does not disqualify the applicant, unless the reasons are related to immigration fraud or other major problems. It is most important that all criminal, medical, or United States immigration history problems be disclosed to the limited partnership and immigration legal counsel in advance of application.

9. After petition approval, can members of the family interview in different countries?

Family members can interview in different countries. The country of origin or where the family has current ties is the standard interview site. Often one member of the family is located in another country, such as a student attending school in the United States. The student does not have to return to the country of origin and can adjust status in the United States at the district office of the USCIS.

10. With an EB-5 Investment who receives the permanent residency (“Green Card”)?

Husband, wife and any unmarried children under the age of 21, as long as the individual was under 21 at the time of filing the I-526 petition. Note: If processing times exceed a certain time, the child may not qualify as an under 21 child. Consult your immigration counsel for further information. It is possible for adopted children to be included in the family. Upon approval you will receive a form evidencing approval and a travel document. You should also receive a temporary Green Card in the mail.

11. What issue causes the most problems when applying for an EB-5 visa?

The most common problem area has been insufficient documentation of the source of funds. Many people try to disclose the least possible information only to have the file returned with a request for further information. It is better to provide too much information rather than too little information. In this era of terror alerts, and suspicions about money laundering, USCIS case examiners require a well-documented source of funds.

12. What is the difference between permanent residency and citizenship?

Once you obtain a permanent Green Card, and become a legal permanent resident, you have most of the rights and obligations of United States citizens, except that you cannot vote and are not entitled to some public benefits. You are subject to the same tax filing requirements and entitled to the same tax rates and deductions as United States citizens. Your “Green Card” is your most important travel and identification document. When your Green Card arrives, please look at it carefully. You may need to extend it in ten years. If you need to replace it before then because it is lost, stolen or dilapidated, you may file a form with the USCIS. One of the most important rights legal permanent residents possess is the right to obtain United States citizenship after five years. There are two ways to become a United States citizen. One is by being born in the United States or being born to a United States citizen. The other way is by naturalization. The first step in becoming a United States citizen through naturalization is to become a Legal Permanent Resident (LPR). Being an LPR for five years is one of the basic requirements for qualifying for naturalization. A second requirement is being physically present in the United States for thirty months during the five years prior to the naturalization application. Once becoming a United States citizen, an individual is entitled to benefits including the right to vote and hold public office.

13. Can my Green Card be taken away from me?

Once you receive a Green Card, there are only two conditions required to keep it for life. First, you must not become removable or inadmissible. The most common way of doing this is to be convicted of a serious crime. The second requirement is that you not abandon the United States as your permanent residence. As long as you are not planning to make your home somewhere else, then legally you are still a resident of the United States. As a general rule, if you have a Green Card and leave the United States for more than one year, you may have a difficult time reentering the country. That is because the USCIS feels an absence of longer than one year indicates a possible abandonment of United States residence. To avoid a full-scale inspection, you should return within six months. It is a common misconception that to keep your Green Card all you need to do is enter the United States at least once a year. The fact is that if you ever leave with the intention of making some other country your permanent home, you give up your United States residency when you go. The USCIS will look to your behavior for signals that your real place of residence is not the United States. On the other hand, remaining outside the United States for more than one year does not mean you have automatically given up your Green Card. If your absence was intended from the start to be only temporary, you may still keep your permanent resident status. However, you may no longer use your Green Card as a United States entry document. You must either apply at a United States consulate for a special immigrant visa as a returning resident or you must get what is known as a reentry permit.

14. I have a Green Card and plan on traveling out of the United States for a long time. Can I keep my Green Card?

Maybe. The primary rule surrounding Green Cards is that you lose it if you give up your United States residence. The more common criterion, though, is time based. There are three important time limits to know about:

15. I need to travel out of the United States for more than a year. Is there nothing I can do?

You can apply for a reentry permit (on form I-131) before you leave the United States. You can depart before the reentry permit is approved. With such a reentry permit, you can return to the United States even after one year until the reentry permit’s expiration date. Reentry permits are issued for two years. You cannot renew a reentry permit, but you can return to the United States for a short time and apply for a new one. The second such reentry permit will be granted for two years also, but subsequent ones may only be approved for one year at a time.

16. How long is a Green Card valid for?

There are several answers to this question. If you received your Green Card through marriage, and have not been married for two years when you got your Green Card, you should have a conditional Green Card that is good for two years. Also, if you received your Green Card through investment (EB-5), you should have a conditional Green Card for two years. You must apply for removal of the condition within ninety days before the two years are up. Once that is approved, you have a regular unconditional Green Card. If you apply either too early or too late, you have a problem and should consult with an attorney for advice. If you do not have the condition removed, the Green Card will become invalid at the end of two years, and your permanent resident status will be terminated. Unconditional Green Cards are good for ten years. This does not mean that after ten years, you stop being a legal permanent resident – only the card itself becomes invalid. You must apply for a new one using form I-90. Without a current Green Card, you cannot use the Green Card to travel out of the United States, and you also cannot use the Green Card as evidence that you are permitted to work.

17. How long must I remain in the United States each year?

The first requirement of any investor after they receive the visa at the United States overseas consulate office is to enter into the United States within 180 days of visa issuance from the consulate. The investor must then establish residency in the United States. Evidence of intent to reside includes opening bank accounts, obtaining a driver’s license or social security number, paying state and federal income taxes, renting or buying a home. The United States resident may work overseas if required based upon the nature of the business or profession. For those permanent residents living outside the United States, we suggest the investor and family re-enter the United States no less than once every six months. The longer the investor and family are present in the United States, the less likely the government is to claim that the investor “abandoned” the United States as a permanent residence – thereby endangering his Green Card status. In some cases, investors may seek the issuance of a “reentry permit” which allows the Investor permission to remain outside the United States for as long as two years without having to reenter the country to maintain permanent resident status.

18. Who may receive the permanent residency (“Green Card”)?

An individual or a family (husband, wife and any unmarried children under the age of 21) may receive permanent residency. It is also possible for adopted children to be included in the family.

19. How long does it take for me and my family to receive the “Green Card”?

The average processing time for clients of the EB-5 Program can currently take more than a year or possibly longer. The initial application and petition are usually approved in six to eight months, with the balance of the time being required for completing other United States Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS) and Department of State forms and for scheduling the interview.

20. How long does USCIS take to process my visa petition?

Processing times vary from as little as a few weeks to as much as nine months. We cannot predict or promise a particular processing time. You should plan for the entire process to take approximately one year to one and a half years.

21. What are the obligations of the investor to participate in the investment?

The investor must be “active” in the management of the investment by engaging in the management of the new commercial enterprise, either through day-to-day managerial control or through policy formation. However, the law does specifically allow that an investor will qualify as a “limited partner” as defined in the Revised Uniform Limited Partnership Act. The project meets all the regulation requirements by enrolling the investor in the investment as a limited partner. Limited partners have obligations in a limited to partnership such as the voting rights of limited partners. It is a reduced role however meets the criteria of the EB-5 Program. This limited role allows the investor to continue to engage in his own business. Additionally, this allows the investor to live where he pleases, and gives him the option to enter and exit the United States. Most importantly, the limited partner, like the corporate shareholder, is only liable to the enterprise to the extent of the agreed-upon investment. CMB uses this business structure to protect the investor and meet the requirements of the EB-5 law.