关于潜在EB-5项目的EB-5问答

1.什么是TEA,50万美元的投资与100万美元投资有什么不同?

目标就业区 (TEA)是认定为失业率达到或超过全国平均失业率150%的地理/地缘政治区,或者不在大都市统计区(MSA)范围内并且人口不足2万的农村地区。按照EB-5计划的规定,外国人的最低投资限额为100万美元。但如果投资到目标就业区域(TEA),投资限额可以减少到50万美元。在许多情况中,TEA区域的范围指的是只有整个乡镇或者整个地块或者一个人口普查段的面积大小。

除了农村地区,在任何情况中,TEA地区都必须有大量的数据帮助证明该区域的失业率达到全国平均失业水平的150%,并且必须是一个单一的大都市统计区(MSA)。单就一封表明区域状态的函件是不够的,必须提供数据资料支持。问题:在美国有多少个100万美元项目?答案几乎是没有!(CMB已经有这样或那样的计划),为什么?整个美国是否是一个高失业区?当然不是。有些区域中心的EB-5计划是有欺骗性的。如果你向特定区域投入规定的投资,在提供I-829表时可能会提醒你小心谨慎!应认真准备,确保你选择的区域中心不是在玩一场游戏。

2. 作为CMB的借款人,对EB-5计划合规性的要求(责任)是什么?

就参与EB-5 计划而言,借款人不向具体投资者承担任何EB-5监管责任、法律责任或者任何要求。借款人仅负责满足贷款协议的条款规定。

作为借款协议条款的一部分,借款人将需要将贷款所得用于支付贷款协议中确认项目的合理支出,以筹资授权书的合理支出。借款人还需要提供实际建设支出文件或者贷款人可以接受的此类支出文件。证明创造就业机会的文件可以包括总账报表、发票、施工合同及其他相关文件。

创造就业机会的含义:

在我们看来,EB-5计划首先要求每个投资者证明其投资为美国人创造了十个新的全职就业岗位,包括直接或者间接的就业机会。直接就业机会是指传统的雇员/雇主地位;间接或派生的就业机会是指通过投资活动使直接雇员将最近获得的薪酬在经济区或其他经济活动花出去时产生的就业机会,比如建设施工支出。CMB投资模型依赖于建设支出产生的间接或衍生的就业机会。其他就业形式在I-829阶段声明,比如持续2年以上的直接建设施工就业岗位、经营阶段的就业岗位、直接就业岗位以及作为创造收入的一部分而创造的就业机会。传统上,我们将这些就业资源作为我们在“特殊”就业岗位上的缓冲区。利用这种方法,我们能够证明间接和派生的就业机会是在金钱花出去的时候创造的。另外,间接和衍生就业岗位也满足对EB-5投资者提出的所有要求。施工和施工支出的时限将决定CMB EB-5投资者的投资金额以及多久能够发挥作用。区域中心投资的一个最重要收益点是能够利用间接和衍生就业满足EB-5投资者必须创造的就业机会要求。非区域中心EB-5投资项目仅限于在投资的特定企业中创造直接就业机会。

3. CMB何时开始筹集资金?

CMB开始筹集资金(假设所有文件都准备齐全)的时间取决于某一特定项目中创造就业机会的时间。EB-5投资项目规定了一个有限的时间框架,需要在该时限内证明新创造的就业机会。我们将需要使施工建设支出的时限与我们的筹集工作匹配,但CMB筹集资金的能力主要决定于投资质量以及投资能否满足EB-5投资者的目标。在以往的合伙企业中,我们曾经在短短32天内成功地筹集到9000万美元。在任何情况中,我们都需要获得具体的信息和文件,其中包括:项目详情和时间表、筹资授权、贷款协议,以及成功实现贷款人和借款人目标所需的其他资料。开发工作通常从获得筹资授权开始,然后是提供与项目相关的大量文件资料,以及有关抵押品、关联债权人协议、企业担保、项目担保以及签署贷款协议。

另外,还必须编制所有的合伙企业文件,投资者必须阅读和理解投资文件。

4. CMB怎么获得报酬?

CMB的作用与任何金融贷款机构的作用非常相似。我们的收入有一部分来自借款人支付的CMB投资合伙企业所提供贷款产生的利息

Q. 资金借款产生的支出、费用等都包括哪些?

这需要依据具体项目的具体情况而定。CMB向借款人收取的费用可能包括文件编制费用和贷款手续费。除此之外,借款人不需再向CMB支付其他的法律费用或者市场营销费。关于借款人在编制和审核所有财务及担保文件中认为必要支付的法律费用(包括律师费),则由借款人自己承担。

5.你正在寻找哪类项目?

CMB的关注重点始终是建立在基本建设项目之上(横向或纵向)的基础设施项目。我们也在寻求能够论证公私合伙关系的项目。大多数情况下,项目必须证明在合伙企业的有限合伙人的有条件居留权期间将会创造规定的就业机会。

6. 你可以参与多大规模的项目(多大的尺度范围)?

CMB投资资金与外部资金之间有一个比率,这个比率决定我们的借贷能力限度,而这与创造就业机会有千丝万缕的关联。而且也存在依据借款人的偿债能力以及按期偿还贷款的能力而设置的各种限制。然而,考虑到我们有坚实的投资基础,可以证明合格的建设支出与规定的贷款额匹配,并且能够证明具备在EB-5投资贷款时限内的偿债和偿还贷款本金的能力,因此我们相信我们可以筹集到必要的EB-5资金(上亿美元)。

7. 你是否在寻求获得一个股权位置或者纯粹的债权人/债务位置?

CMB EB-5投资项目传统上一直是贷款型投资。这并不意味着我们不会考虑合适结构的股权投资。任何股权投资也需要证明怎样实现CMB EB-5投资者的目标。

8.投资期限有多久,从何时开始计算?

所有的CMB投资贷款都是为期六年的贷款。每个借款人都需要按季度支付所获贷款产生的利息。这些贷款在到期时需要单独支付一笔贷款本金。借款人可以在CMB贷款的六年期限内建设新的基础设施,以及开发一条成熟的收入渠道。当最后一笔资金出借给借款人时,就是这些贷款的六年期限起算时间。

Q.我是否能够获得还款且不需承受处罚,最早什么时候可以获得还款?

每个EB-5投资者的最终目标是获得美国的永久居留权。为了实现这个目标,投资者们需要提交I-829申请来证明:(1)已经完全投资了规定的资金量(100万美元 或50万美元),并且这些投资都处于风险状态,(2)已经为美国人创造了规定的十个新的就业机会。每份CMB投资贷款协议都包含在最初的42个月期间禁止还款的条款。我们相信,这将允许我们的投资者有充足的时间实现他们的移民目标。在这42个月期满之后,每个借款者可以自由决定何时偿还贷款,且不需接受处罚。

如需更多EB-5信息,请联系CMB

Language:
  • English
  • Français
  • 中文
  • Português
  • Русский
  • Español
  • Tiếng Việt
  • 한국

EB-5 Q&A for Potential EB-5 Projects

1. What is a TEA and the difference between the $500k and $1M investment?

A Target Employment Area (TEA) is a geographic/geopolitical area identified as having an unemployment rate at or above 150% of the national average or a rural area not in a Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) with a population below 20,000. The basic amount a foreign national must invest, as required by the EB-5 program, is $1 million. The amount is reduced to $500,000 if the investment is made in a Target Employment Area (TEA). In many cases TEA’s have been defined as areas as large as an entire county or parcels of land as small as a census tract. In all cases except rural the TEA must be backed by substantial data to show it is in fact 150% of the national average and it must be a single Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). A simple state letter is not enough it must have the data backup. Question: How many $1million projects are there in the U.S.? Answer is almost none! (CMB has one and another planned) Why? Is the entire U.S. a high unemployment area? Of course not. Some Regional Centers are cheating the EB-5 program. Caution you could be asked at the I-829 if you made the required investment for that particular area! Be prepared, make sure your Regional Center is not gaming the system.

2. As a borrower with CMB, what are the requirements (responsibilities) for EB-5 program compliance?

In regard to EB-5 participation, the Borrower does not have any EB-5 regulatory responsibilities, liabilities or requirements to the individual investors. The Borrower’s only responsibility is to satisfy the terms of the loan agreement. As part of the terms of the loan agreement, the Borrower will be required to spend the proceeds of the loan on qualified expenditures the projects identified in the loan agreement and the authorization to raise capital letter. The Borrower is also required to provide documentation on actual construction spending or such expenditure documentation acceptable to the Lender. Documentation to provide job creation can consist of general ledger reports, invoices, construction contracts and other such documents.

A Word About Job Creation:

In our opinion, the primary requirement of the EB-5 program is for each investor to demonstrate the creation of 10 new, full time American jobs as a result of their investment. These can be direct or indirect jobs. Direct jobs are the traditional employee/employer positions; indirect and induced jobs are those that result when the direct employees spend their newly earned pay in the economy or other economic activity occurs through investments such as construction spending. The CMB investment model relies upon indirect and induced job creation that results from construction spending. Other forms of job creation are reserved to be claimed at the I-829 stage such as direct construction jobs that last over 2 years, operational phase jobs, direct jobs and job creation as a part of revenue generation. Traditionally, we use these job sources as our buffer on “extra” jobs. Using this method, we are able to show that indirect and induced jobs are created at the moment monies are spent. Further, indirect and induced jobs also meet all of the requirements that are placed upon EB-5 investors. The timing of construction and the construction spending will determine how soon and in what amounts CMB EB-5 investor capital can play a role. One of the most important benefits to a regional center investment is the ability to use indirect and induced job creation to meet the job creation needs of the EB-5 investors. A non-regional center EB-5 investment is restricted to direct job creation in the particular business they invest.

3. When does CMB start raising capital?

CMB will begin raising capital (assuming all documents are in order) based upon the timing of job creation in a specific project. EB-5 investments have a limited window of time in which to demonstrate new job creation. We will need to match the timing of construction spending with our funding efforts but CMB’s ability to raise capital is heavily dependent upon the quality of the investment and the likelihood the investment will meet the goals of the EB-5 investor. In past partnerships we have successfully raised as much as $90 million in as little as 32 days. In all cases we will need specific information and documents which will include: project details and timetables, authorization to raise capital, loan agreement and much more in order to successfully achieve the goals of both Lender and Borrower. The development often originates with an authorization to raise funds, massive amount of documents about the projects, negotiations on collateral, intercreditor agreements, corporate guarantees, project guarantees and more followed by a signed loan agreement.

Additionally, all the partnership documents must be produced and the investor must read and understand the investment.

4. How does CMB receive their compensation?

CMB’s role is much like that of any financial lending institution. Our revenues come in part from the interest paid by the borrowers on loans from CMB investment partnerships.

Q. What about expenses, fees, etc. attributable to the borrowing of funds?

This is determined on a project by project basis. CMB’s fees to the borrower may include a document preparation fee and an origination fee. There are no other legal or marketing costs associated to the Borrower that are payable to CMB. The borrowers are responsible for payment of their own legal costs (including legal counsel) as deemed necessary in the preparation and review of all financing and security documents.

5. What types of projects are you looking for?

CMB’s focus has been and continues to be infrastructure related projects on basic construction related projects (horizontal or vertical). We are also seeking projects that demonstrate a public private partnership. Mostly the projects must show the job creation will occur in the time frame of the partnerships’ limited partners’ conditional residency period.

6. How large of a project can you become involved in? (What Size Range)

There is a ratio of CMB investment capital to outside capital that determines a limit to our lending capabilities which all links to job creation. There are also limitations based upon the ability of the Borrower to service debt and to repay the loan at maturity. However, we believe we can raise significant EB-5 capital (hundreds of millions) given a solid investment that demonstrates qualified construction spending that match up with the requested lending amount and demonstrates the ability to service debt and repay the principal within the time frame of the EB-5 investment loan.

7. Are you looking for an equity position or solely a creditor/debt position?

CMB EB-5 investments have traditionally been loan based investments. This does not mean that we would not consider a properly structured equity investment. Any equity investment would still need to demonstrate how it can achieve the goals of the CMB EB-5 investor.

8. What is the term (length) of the investment and when does this time start?

All CMB investment loans have been for six years. Each borrower is required to make quarterly interest payments on the amount of the loan that has been advanced. The loans have a single principal payment that is due at maturity. The six year term of CMB loans gives the borrower time in which to construct the new infrastructure and develop a mature revenue stream. The six year “clock” on the loan begins when the last funds are advanced to the borrower.

Q. Can I repay early without penalty? How early?

The ultimate goal of every EB-5 investor is to gain permanent residency in the United States. In order to achieve this goal they are required to submit an I-829 petition that demonstrates they are (1) fully invested the required amount of capital ($1million or $500,000) at risk and (2) the requisite ten new American jobs have been created. Each CMB investment loan agreement contains provisions preventing repayment during the first 42 months. We believe this will allow adequate time for our investors to achieve their immigration goals. Each Borrower is free to prepay the loan, without penalty, after this 42 month period of time.

Contact CMB For EB-5 Information