什么是EB-5签证

全世界的许多国家都有投资移民计划。今天最成功的移民计划当属澳大利亚、英国和美国。加拿大曾经推出最成功的移民计划,此计划为该国带来巨量的投资 资金;但近日加拿大叫停了部分投资移民项目。美国移民投资计划被称为EB-5计划,EB-5是“第五类优先就业型移民签证”的简称。在该计划中,移民投资 者的成功是最终获得永久性美国签证(为自己以及在初次申请时年龄不满21岁的合资格家庭成员获取永久居留权或绿卡)。对于美国政府来说,成功就是该计划要 求移民投资者提供一笔风险投资(一百万美元或者五十万美元,依据诸多因素而定)从而创造至少十个新的就业机会,因此称为“第五类优先就业型移民签证”。

如果一个外国人向一个企业投资100万美元(或者在某些情况下,向目标就业区投资50万美元,此类区域指的是统计显示失业率达到全国平均失业率 150%的区域或者农村地区)从而为美国人创造十个新的就业机会,移民投资者将有资格为自己及符合条件的家庭成员获取绿卡(永久签证)。此计划还有许多规 定,比如在整个EB-5有条件居留权期间保持该投资以及提高区域生产力等其他要求。此计划分为两个明显不同的阶段。在第一阶段,向移民投资者授予有条件签 证。两年之后,如果投资者证明创造了十个新的就业机会,并且保持规定的投资金额,而且符合签证上的居留时间要求,附加签证上的条件将被去除,使该签证成为 永久性签证。

EB-5签证类别的历史渊源?

EB-5签证类别始于1991年,而区域中心则于1993年开始试行。1997年,CMB Export 有限责任公司为成为区域中心提交的申请获得美国移民归化局正式批准(我们 应该是第2个被批准的区域中心)。90年代中期,多间公司同时角逐EB-5计划的外国投资资金,但大多数公司都不能提供稳妥的投资和投资机会,也没有在新 商业企业中投入全部50万美元的投资资本,或者为美国人创造规定的新就业机会。美国移民归化局想阻止这些弊端现象或那些涉及法律诉讼的滥用,故EB-5计 划于1999年至2002/2003年期间实际上被搁置了。在2002年,国会通过了对现有EB-5法案的新修正案,更具体的说是针对“试点计划”的修正 案,该计划包括创建区域中心,保护该计划的诚信。而且在2002年,在俗称为“Chang”的第九巡回上诉法院案件中,移民局或移民归化局被判其新规则不 得溯及既往或者在I-829阶段重新核定I-526申请。2003年8月,移民局自1998年以来首次批准地区中心申请。

2005年1月,为了改进和加速办理EB-5区域中心相关申请,移民局成立了一个投资者和区域中心部门,简写为IRCU,该部门独自负责按照移民投 资试行计划审核区域中心申请,专做批准、拒绝和要求提供证据(RFE)等审核。鉴于“chang”的案件,以及在该区域设立新的国会法例,在2007 年,CMB努力获得了新的区域中心批准函。现在大家都知道,只要是有精确的统计数据证明,在指定的区域中心内向有确凿证据证明的目标就业区进行的稳妥投 资,包括合理地证明外国投资者将会创造十个新就业机会,并且全部50万美元已经以法规规定的风险投资的形式投放到一个新的商业企业,并且附带恰当的证据资 料,相关的EB-5移民申请应该予以批准。

什么是指定的区域中心?

一个“区域中心”是:

EB-5投资类型:直接投资或者向一个区域中心投资

EB-5投资分为两类:一类是外国人向某一个特定企业进行直接投资,另一类是向区域中心投资。直接投资只是向某个特定的企业投资。在直接 EB-5投资中,投资者只允许利用直接就业机会获得申请美国绿卡(为自己以及年龄不满21岁的合资格家庭成员申请正式绿卡)的资格。直接就业机会是指投资 者向特定公司(新成立的商业企业)投资,从而为美国人创造的新就业机会。

区域中心是指移民局将符合移民局区域中心法规要求的一个实体指定为一个目标区域,申请过程既严格又复杂。此申请以及其他事宜概括了区域中心的整个商 业计划以及将用于表明每个外国投资者在新的商业企业将会创造就业机会的方法。当获得移民局批准之后,区域中心获得更多的权力,可以通过汇集投资者的资金以 及利用间接和直接就业机会来证明创造的就业机会数量。这是极有力的工具,为出具创造就业机会的证据资料提供了更大的回旋余地。区域中心可以利用直接和间接 创造的就业机会来证明投资者已经满足为美国人创造至少十个就业机会的要求。简而言之,与EB-5申请者利用直接投资证明 所创造的必要数量的就业机会相比,区域中心在证明新商业企业内部创造的就业数量方面有更大的灵活性。我们相信,通过CMB联邦指定区域中心进行投资使移民 投资者能够最快捷地获取永久签证。我们为证明创造就业机会的方法在I-526阶段开始应用,迄今为止,每个最终阶段的CMB I-829审核通过成功率为100% 。

Language:
  • English
  • Français
  • 中文
  • Português
  • Русский
  • Español
  • Tiếng Việt
  • 한국

What is EB5?

Many countries around the world have immigrant investor programs. The most successful today of these programs are located in Australia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Canada was the most successful at bringing in investment dollars; however recently parts of its program have been closed. The United States immigrant investor program is called the EB5 program which is short for: Employment Based 5th Preference. Success for immigrant investors in this program results in a permanent United States visa (Permanent or green card for themselves and qualified family members under the age of 21 at the time of filing the initial petition). Success for the United States is the program requires immigrant investors to make an at-risk investment (One million dollars or $500,000 depending on several factors) that creates no fewer than 10 new American jobs, thus the name Employment Based 5th Preference Visa.

If a foreign national invests $1 million (or in some cases $500,000 within a targeted employment area, an area statistically proven to be 150% of the U.S. national unemployment rate or rural area) in a business that creates ten new American jobs, the immigrant investor would be eligible to obtain a green card (permanent visa) for themselves and their qualifying family members. The program has many other provisions, such as maintaining the investment throughout the EB5 conditional permanent residency period, increasing regional productivity, and other requirements. The program is divided into two distinct phases. In the first phase the immigrant investor is granted a conditional visa. After two years, the conditions on the visa are removed if the investor has proven the creation ten new American jobs, maintained the required amount of investment and met the residency time requirement the conditions on the visa are removed and the visa is made permanent.

What is the history of the EB5 visa category?

The EB5 visa category started in 1991. Regional Centers started in 1993. CMB Export LLC’s application to become Regional Center was duly approved by the Immigration and Naturalization Service in 1997 (we believe the 2nd Regional Center to be approved). During the mid 1990’s several companies competed for investment capital from foreign investors within the EB5 program. Most of the companies did not offer sound investments, and investment opportunities, did not place the full $500,000 investment capital in the new commercial enterprise or create the required number of new American jobs. The legacy INS wanted to stop these abuses and other abuses of the program, this involved law suits and the EB5 program was effectively placed on hold between 1999 and 2002/2003. In 2002, Congress passed new changes to the existing EB5 law more particularly to the “Pilot Program” which contained the creation of regional centers to protect the integrity of the program. Also, in 2002, in a case commonly known as “Chang” in the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that USCIS or INS may not apply their new rules retroactively or readjudicate the I-526 at the I-829 phase. In August of 2003, USCIS began approving Regional Center petitions for the first time since 1998.

In January 2005, to improve and expedite EB5 Regional Center related applications USCIS established an Investor and Regional Center Unit, IRCU, the unit being the sole adjudicative jurisdiction for Regional Center applications pursuant to the Immigrant Investor Pilot Program for purposes of approval, denial and Requests for Evidence (RFE’s). In light of the “Chang” case and the new Congressional enactments in this area, CMB sought and received an updated Regional Center authorization letter in 2007. It is now common knowledge that EB5 immigration petitions based on sound investments in designated Regional Centers with a proven TEA designation backed by accurate statistical data including reasonable proof ten new jobs will be created for each foreign national investor and the full $500,000 has been placed in a new commercial enterprise in an at-risk investment as prescribed by the rules, with proper supporting documentation, should be approved.

What is an EB5 Designated Regional Center?

A “Regional Center:”

Types of EB5 Investments

EB5 Investments are broken into two categories: a direct investment by a foreign national into a particular business or an investment into a Regional Center. The direct investment is just that – an investment into a specific company. In the direct EB5 investment, the investor is only allowed to utilize direct jobs to qualify for residency (A permanent green card for themselves and all qualified family members under 21 years old). The direct jobs are those new American jobs created within that particular company (the new commercial enterprise) the investor placed their investment.

A Regional Center is a designation granted by the USCIS to an entity that has satisfied requirements under the regional center regulations of the USCIS. This application process is rigorous and complex and the application among many other things outlines the Regional Center’s entire business plan and the job creation methodology that will be utilized to show ten new jobs will be created for each of the foreign national investors in the new commercial enterprise. Once approved, by the USCIS, the Regional Center has much greater power in that the Regional Center can demonstrate creating jobs through pooling investor funds as well as utilizing indirect as well as direct jobs. This is a very powerful tool that allows for greater leeway in demonstrating job creation proof. Regional Centers are allowed to utilize both direct and indirect job creation to support the investor’s requirement for a minimum of ten new American jobs created. Simply stated, a Regional Center has greater flexibility in demonstrating job creation within the new commercial enterprise than a direct investment for an EB5 applicant to prove their requisite job creation. We believe investing through the CMB Regional Center offers the immigrant investor the most expeditious means for obtaining a permanent visa. Our methodology for demonstrating job creation begins at the I-526 and has been 100% successful to date on every final CMB I-829 adjudication.